Local Beer Friday: Thirsty Dog Raspberry Ale

9 04 2010

 

Brewery: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Akron

Beer: Raspberry Ale

ABV: 3.9%, IBU: 7.5

Rating: ★★★

I was wary about buying a raspberry beer after my dreaded encounters with Abita Purple Haze.  Since the Haze, I have avoided fruit beers like the plague (aside from delicious Belgian lambics).  I am just not a fan of that grossly sweet flavor that seems to try to mask the flavor of the beer, rather than balance it out.  Not to mention Man Law #10: “Don’t Fruit the Beer.”  You can’t say no to that mustache… But, the dog with raspberry spots just called to me and I was looking for something summery and refreshing to remind me of last week’s heat wave (note: it hit 85 degrees last friday… today it snowed).  So, I picked up a six pack at my local Giant Eagle (Warehouse Beverage was closed) and tried it out. 

"Don't fruit the beer"

The initial smell of the brew was promising (yes, I sniff my beer first… that’s how I roll).  Though the raspberry was obviously the dominant scent (surprise!), it was not unnatural or overpowering, which was promising.  Still skeptical, I was surprised after my first swig.  The light  ale had a semi-natural raspberry taste and a clean, slightly sour finish with a hit of dryness.  Most importantly, it didn’t leave that  funky “Hazy” aftertaste.  Though the bottle professes to use “freshly picked raspberries” that were “naturally infused” into the beer (which I could believe… but it had to be fortified with some kind of syrup), the beer lacked the complexity which might come from steeping whole berries (with the seeds) in the brew.  But what it lacked in complexity, it made up for with refreshingness and it would be a perfect pairing for a summer cookout or desert with a chocolate cake… mmm I wish I had some.

Overall, my endeavor into the world of forbidden ingredients was worthwhile.  (Maybe Burt will forgive me)  And although this was a detour from my normal beer taste, its always good to try something new. 


Actions

Information

Leave a comment