Local Beer Friday (aka Monday): Rusted River Irish Red Ale

3 05 2010

My much anticipated post is back four days early… or three days late if you’re a pessimist.  This is the first of three beers I picked up at Warehouse Beverage on Mayfield Rd.  Go there some day.  You won’t regret it.  So, here goes…

Brewery: Rust Belt Brewing Company, Youngstown

Beer: Rusted River Irish Ale

ABV: 5.5%

Rating: ★★★

Rusted River Irish Red… doesn’t sound too palatable.  Though, few things from Youngstown do.  But, I say trust in the post-industrial brewing cities.  I think the economic depression adds to the flavor, or at least they can make a cool looking bottle label.

Upon the first pour, the beer was a deep amber.  It was a tad bit darker than I expected, but its smell wasn’t as strong as the color.  I had some light caramel hits, but I nearly had to inhale the beer to grasp them (but maybe its those damn allergies).  The initial taste was reminiscent of a mild stout along with the bitter bite and mouth-feel from the dark roasted malt.  As my tastebuds became acclimated to the rusty bite, the sweeter caramel tastes came out with very little hoppiness.  The finish left a pleasantly bitter taste on the palate.  Overall, it was not my top Irish red and slightly underwhelming, but it was at least satisfying and the taste grew on me as I downed the pint bottle.  It would be worth ordering a pint while watching the Gaelic Games… or at least a Irish Springs commercial.

Hurling... don't know what that is? Spend more time at Irish bars watching Sentanta


Actions

Information

One response

4 05 2010
Alex

I want to try that, but I don’t think they carry it at DLM. I tried Moerlein, Barbarossa. Its a beer brewed in Cincinnati. Its a Double Dark Large. Its very good, with a sweet bit, but not too sweet. Try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

